Nominating Committee

Report

It has been an eventful time since the 2008 General Assembly and many decisions have been subject to intense scrutiny.

The first challenge was the sudden resignation of Rev Rhys Pearson, Convener of the Council of Assembly for health reasons. His Deputy, Rev Emma Keown had only just been appointed to this position, and was the chosen person to become Convener. Ms Lisa Wells was appointed to the Deputy Convener role and Rev Wayne Matheson was appointed to the subsequent vacancy on the Council of Assembly. I commend the Rev Emma Keown's tenacity and courage in managing a challenging role since mid 2009.

The questioning of outcomes that arose from this process resulted in the establishment of a Task Group in mid 2009 to evaluate the roles of the Council of Assembly and Nominating Committee, the amalgamation of presbyteries and representation that is equitable for future Nominating Committees. Other issues included better liaison and representation with Cooperative Ventures, increased Pacific Island Synod representation on Council of Assembly, the question of voting rights for the Synod of Otago and Southland representative and the need for a separate Association of Presbyterian Women representative on the Nominating Committee.

The Nominating Committee seeks a gender, lay/clergy, theological and geographical balance.

The Task Group report has, at the end of July 2010, been adapted as a report of the Council of Assembly, after much writing, discussion and telephone conferencing. Thanks must go to Neil Walker, who convened this Task Group with myself and the Rev Chris Elliott and Mrs Zona Pearce of the Council of Assembly, for presenting the report in a clear and concise manner. The recommendations will be part of the Council of Assembly report.

I have been very well assisted by Rev Ian Hyslop as Co-Convener of the Nominating Committee with a Sub-Executive Committee of five. They are Rev Steve Jourdain, Rev Luisa Fruean, Rev David Anderson, Mrs Shona McDonald and Rev Wiremu Te Ratana. This arrangement has worked well for many years, but was not legislated for in the Book of Order, and this has now been recommended by the recent Task Group report. The full Nominating Committee is consulted for major decisions; such as we had in reorganising the Council of Assembly membership last year.

I choose not offer myself as Convener for a further term of two years, and Rev Ian Hyslop is our nominee for Convener. The deputy role must be confirmed by the Council of Assembly and as in other recommendations, ratified by General Assembly.

The Nominating Committee for 2010 is as follows: North Shore Mrs Fiona Sherwin

Auckland Mr Bill Teariki.

South Auckland Rev Margaret Anne Low Waikato Rev Wilson Orange

Bay of Plenty
Taranaki
Wairarapa
Wairarapa
Wellington
West Coast

Mr Ben Hockley
Mr Wayne Ogden
Rev James Veitch
Rev George Dempster
Rev Nathan Parry
Mrs Lyn Heine

Rev Sandra Wright-Taylor Christchurch South Canterbury Rev Mary Jane Koning Mr David Dittmer Central Otago Ashburton Rev Luisa Fruean Southland Mr Andrew Bayne Mataura Rev George Kopa **APW** Mrs Linda Allen Te Aka Puaho Ms Honey Thrupp

Pacific Island Synod Rev Ere Talangi Ikitoelagi

Fewer presbyteries provided nominations and representation was based on the 2008 presbytery boundaries and this will no doubt change if Assembly ratifies the new presbyteries.

Those retiring from their Committee roles at this Assembly are thanked for their generous contribution of time and talent.

Council of Assembly - Convener (2009) Rev Rhys Pearson, Rev Richard Dawson, Mr Neil Walker

Leadership Sub-Committee – Convener Rev Ian Guy, Deputy Convener Rev Carol Grant, Rev Asora Amosa, Mr Chris Archer, Rev Paora Hunia

Resource Sub-Committee – Rev Murray Talbot, Mr Reg West

National Assessment Work Group - Co-Convener Rev Helen Martin, Rev Asora Amosa

Assembly Business Work Group – Co-Convener Rev David Coster, Rev Hugh Perry

Nominating Committee – Mrs Ann Owen (Convener); Sub Executive Committee members – Rev Steve Jourdain, Rev David Anderson, Ms Chuna McDonald, Rev Wiremu Te Ratana

Nominating Committee members 2008-2010 as follows:

Rev Peter Dunn, Rev Emma Keown, Rev Ian Dickson, Rev Robert Robati-Mani, Mrs Janice Purdie, Ms Christine Gould, Rev Joan Ross, Dr Helen Bichan, Rev Ken Williams, Rev Lapana Faletolu, Rev Chris Burgin, Mr Robin Cowie, Mrs Virginia Wilson, Mr Kim Chang-Woo, Rev Tala Fa`amausili, Rev Sharon Ensor.

The incoming Nominating Committee for the 2010 General Assembly is due to meet in Wellington on 28 August to consider and then make recommendations for committee vacancies for 2010-2012. These will be notified to General Assembly for confirmation when available.

For the Presbyterian Church to operate effectively it is important that each presbytery gives prayerful consideration to committee membership, and not just leave it to others. The Nominating Committee can only work with the names they have, and though suitable people are obtained, they may not represent the diversity that exists within the Presbyterian Church of Aotearoa New Zealand. I commend this report to Assembly.

Ann Owen

Convener